Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

Kvetching like a little old lady

I have something I’d like to take a moment to whine about.

We killed Superman and brought him back.  Ok, that was a huge gimic , and he wasn’t dead all that long.  He was killed with the intent of resurrection. Green Arrow was resurected by Hal (I think–can’t remember much about that Kevin Smith storyline except for thinking it was weird to hear Batman talking about having snow down the front of his Osh Koshes)… Then Hal gets resurrected.  Eeeeeverybody in the DCU–death’s less than perminant.  Including Jason Todd, whom they swore on a stack of bibles they’d never resurrect.  I think it was heather that said the only problem with Jason Todd being alive was that it made him less dead.  Which is true.

Now they’ve gone and brought back Joey from Teen Titans… who’s been dead for, like, 15 or 20 years.

I think I’ve figured it out–death isn’t really death in the DCU, so much as a vacation from living.

That being said, I’d like to take some death time.  Maybe a year or so to recover from grad school.  I can take a little dirt nap and when I’m feeling better, I can get ressurected through silly and contrived means.

November 11, 2006 - Posted by | Comics, Growly and/or Whine

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

