Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

My sibilings were put on this earth to amuse me.

Jenn: So, what does the Doctor do? Just go around all of time and space, picking up “companions?”  Companion is just another word for “intergalactic f-ck-buddy.”

Charlie:  Technically, it would be a trans-temporal f-ck buddy, since the Doctor travels in both time AND space.

Jenn: So the Doctor just goes around and picks up f-ck buddies…

Me: No, man, the Doctor’s sexually oblivious.  Captain Jack, on the other hand, will hit anything sentient.

Jenn: Sentient is just another word for homeless.

Me: I think you’re thinking of “transient.”

Jenn: So what’s sentient?

Charlie: Intellegence–well, self-awareness.

October 30, 2006 - Posted by | Nerdology

3 Comments »

  1. Technically, sentient means that a being can sense. That’s pretty much anything that’s alive. Sapient means an organism is capable of judgment. There are those who argue how much of humanity is actually sapient, and whether animals (and machines) are capable of sapience.

    Self-aware is a far more difficult problem. How do you know if something else is self-aware? The only real test, where the individual (without being prompted) attempts to figure out some way of finding out whether you are self-aware, is limited. For example, I’ve tried to figure out if others are self-aware, which proves I’m self-aware to them. Whether they are or not is now unknowable, since they now know that the test for self-awareness is to test others. Turing’s test merely proves if something appears to be self-aware. I’ve always wondered about the guy that participated in a Turing test. Everyone picked him for the computer, and the computer for the human. Hmmm.

    Humans might not be self-aware. We only think we are. Yes, that one keeps me up at night.

    Sapient will probably have to do, although I’m sure the good Doctor would have some jokes about humanity and sapience.

    Comment by Rob | October 30, 2006

  2. Mostly my brother was just implying my sister wasn’t bright enough to be self-aware if she thought sentience was another word for hobos 😉 My sister has an IQ in the high 130’s, and she still has these moments where you wonder if she isn’t, maybe, just slightly retarded.

    Comment by battybeyond | October 30, 2006

  3. I realized what your brother was implying — and I was pointing out that your brother didn’t know, either!

    I suspect your sister is “differently brained.” Most people are left brained (right hand dominant). Some folks are right brained, right hand dominant, and they appear very strange to all the left-brainers. They see the world from a vastly different perspective.

    I’m mixed-brained left hand dominant, which means I’m both right and left brained — and neither. Everyone thinks I’m a little odd.

    Comment by Rob | October 30, 2006


Leave a Reply

