Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

Prose: the devil’s playground

Ok, teaching kids about prose isn’t that bad. But I’m a bit stumped. I have about a week to come up with a cool but short prose project for them. We did a miniature 4 paragraph “creative non-fiction” story. Setup, statement of problem, attempted resolution of problem, the end. Short, sweet and we did it in class, too.

So… I am going to have to broach the subject of structure a little more in-depth. I’ll make a handout! Everybody likes handouts. Only I’ll print them on colored paper, so they’re not dumb like school is dumb.

But… do I have them do another personal story, or have them start in on fiction? Fiction’s a whole nuther ball o’ wax with its own problems and issues. If so, what approach? I like to keep stuff small and managable so we can do it in one class, and so they have a semi-finished product by the end of the class.

Also need a few short poem/prose readings for the class. I’ve hit the Neil Gaiman two weeks in a row and I don’t want to be like that one teacher I had for criticism that was obsessed with Walt Whittman (it was like some kind of disturbing fetish.  The only thing I can liken it to is nechrophelia, but with an early 20th century writer’s work)  I think I want to focus on poetic-esque (like, just non-clinical! The kids’re cute, but they’re a little clinical sometimes) description, since we’re sort of only hitting this in a round-about way (I may come back to it once we have something to edit.

Ooh. I’m only going to see them one more time before Nov. 1st, probably, unless we do a seperate session for NaNoWriMo. Gotta broach the subject of constructive criticism as well. If I can figure out if they’re reading the blog or not (haha) then maybe I can slip some of that stuff in there.

Only thing I have to say is… these kids’re awesome. They’ve got a lot of talent and interest. If I could get them to be a little less shy, it’d be perfect. And a few more kids wouldn’t hurt either. As long as they’re at least half as awesome as my core group.

October 6, 2006 - Posted by | School, Wordy

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

