Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

…Why not?

You know how you can’t email your tivo from your cell phone and have it record the show that Bob at the water cooler told you was really awesome, but you won’t be home before it airs? Yeah, that sucks.

Or, how you can’t stick your USB stick into your stereo and listen to the audio book thats on there… or read that text doc, off the USB, on your iPod? Why can’t you stick your usb stick directly into your camera, and suck stuff off? Why can’t I log onto a website and shut off the air conditioning that you forgot to shut off before you left the house? Ok, sure, you can do some of this stuff with a lot of engineering on your own part, the occational hack, or really expensive equipment.  I mean–this stuff should be on the market and it should be a standard feature.

Hell, I’d settle for being able to do a google search and have it search the catalog of my local library in addition to all fifty seven online book site.

There’s all kinds of crap involving proprietary software/hardware, annoying and overly cautionistic (if that isn’t a word, it SHOULD BE!) interpretations of copyright law, and corperate isolationist philosophies that explain why we have the technological ABILITY to do cool stuff like that, but none of it’s actually commercially available.

Oh yeah, and I want to be able to visit a website before I leave work for the day and put my oven on 425 so that I can just throw dinner in the oven when i walk in the door, and i want to be able to email my ipod.  Not too much to ask, ya?

August 10, 2006 - Posted by | Technology & The Intarweb

1 Comment »

  1. But being able to do all that stuff would make it soo much easier for the robots when they take over. I feel like I should fight the power and just not have thing slike Internet and cell phones.

    Comment by Heather | August 10, 2006


Leave a Reply

