Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

X3

Wow. Oodles of noodles of feedback on the X3 thing. We actually went to see it with my brother (which was fun and awesome–I don’t get to spend enough time with him). The showing was full of nerds. I think they did the most clapping for the manager’s announcement of Superman Returns tickets being on sale now, including tickets for the IMAX and the trailer for said movie.

James didn’t like the dumbing down of the Phoenix Saga. Personally, I’m indifferent. I know they can’t cram 40 years of X-history into 3 movies, but this might have been a bit over simplified. I also didn’t like just how detached from the bulk of the story Rogue was (and she didn’t fly. Dammit–I wanna see her fly, is that too freaking much to ask for?). It kind of seemed like a loose end that she wasn’t as involved as she had been in other movies, especially at the end, but I’ll cope. I guess.

Highlights:

10. Logan capping Jean. For some reason I derived great pleasure from this.

9. The total destruction of Jean’s childhood home. That was just fun and cool. I liked that it happened in a pristine suburban neighborhood. It showed just how uncivilized the situation had become, and how it was no longer ignorable by the general populace.

8. The severed Sentinal head. That was just freaking cool. Oh yeah, and Logan lighting his cigar off of a flaming piece of wreckage. That was also awesome.

7. Storm electrocuting that chick. That was sweet. That coupled with Kitty going through that guy then slamming him on the ground AND creamating Juggernaut. “I’m the Juggernaut, Bitch!” hahahaha.

6. What is the terminal velocity of glass?? Shouldn’t that glass have poked out a lot of people’s eyes when Warren leapt through/out that window. Either way, his escape and fight was awesome.

5. Orlan from this most recent season of Stargate was the kid in the white room.

4. The complete and total “holy f-ck” moment when Professor X vaporizes.

3. The Captain-insano amount of destruciton on Alcatraz Island. I don’t know. Insane amounts of destruction were exactly what I needed when I saw that movie.

2. Magneto driving the Golden Gate Bridge. Gratuitous, over-the-top, and just effing cool. James hated it. But I thought it illustrated just how nuts things were. They’d gone from a world where people were normal to a few people having some small, weird powers to people having INSANE amounts of destructive power, like Magneto. Yet another reason why the “lets just leave the mutants in peace” and all hug and get along mentality really probably won’t be the easy road to everybody getting along.

1. Scott got killed by like minute 9 of the movie. I crapped my pants I was so pleased. I haaateeeee Cyclops. He’s such a dick. He’s a dick in every single incarnation of the X-men in every single media.

May 26, 2006 - Posted by | Comics, Nerdology

1 Comment »

  1. I had an epiphany in the batheroom like two minutes ago about why I didn’t like X3 as much as the first two. It wasn’t the choppiness or the overuse of Halle Berry (crappy actress!). It was that Hugh Jackman did not take off his shirt. In X1 he was shirtless in lab being felt up by Jean Grey. In X2 he was in those little briefs being experimented on. In X3 he was completely clothed the whole time. Disappointment! =P

    Comment by Heather | May 30, 2006


Leave a Reply

