Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

Thanks, Neil Gaiman, for destroying my self esteem.

You’re just too fucking good of a writer. I read your stuff and I get depressed because you describe things in such a vivid and interesting way. Mostly, your prose makes me want to take a jagged piece of plastic from a broken casset box and slit my wrists, up and down, not across because I am forced to face my own inadequacies as a writer and human being. While I understand that my suckitude is my own fault and problem, I’m having a really chemically imbalanced day, and whenever I read your stuff, I just marvel at how my own sucks in comparison. Surely there is no hope for it, or me, and the only solution is the aforementioned busted box from a Genisis album that I thought was really cool at the time.

Depression level: Phantom of the Opera/Christine, you ignorant slut

November 30, 2005 - Posted by | Angst, Wordy

4 Comments »

  1. I detest Neil Gaiman. I had to hide my inner hate when I worked at the comic shop because of all the rabid Gaiman lovers. I honestly wanted to ask him to give back the three hours of my life it took to read American Gods. Worst. book.ever.

    I’m not a book critic but I love your writing. It’s warm, funny, and real. Neil Gaiman could never pull that off. Don’t compare yourself to him; it’s like comparing a five star hotel’s bathroom to a public crapper.

    Did I mention how much I hate Neil Gaiman? =)

    Comment by HMC | December 1, 2005

  2. It only took you three hours to read it?? I’m impressed. It’s taken me like three months or four months 🙂

    I’m about 100 pages away from being done with American Gods. Not my typical fare, but I’m enjoying it. It’s also making me want to slit my wrists. Not so much the plot or anything, but he does pretty things with words. It’s like little flowers and squiggly henna designs. In my brain.

    I just dont describe stuff rilly rilly gewd, so I envy those that can. But thank you for thinking I suck less than him LOL

    Comment by TLG | December 1, 2005

  3. No problem. I feel passionately enough about what American Gods did to my brain that I even metaphored. =)

    I’m a fast reader and my OCD won’t let me leave books unfinished. That’s the only reason I finished.

    Comment by HMC | December 1, 2005

  4. I wish I could use my OCD for good, instead of evil. I mean, I’d really like to have a socially beneficial vice. Compulsive neat-freaks are never seen as the dregs of society the way alchoholics or overeaters are, because cleanliness is next to godliness. It’d be nice to be OCD about reading or writing or something.

    Comment by TLG | December 1, 2005


Leave a Reply

