Suicidal Snowflakes

Just because I have a short attention span doesn\’t mean I…

Nothing to say, really. Just like the movies I watch.

I don’t, really. But I’m going to try to post something here every day or so 🙂 I haveta be better at being habitual. N stuff.

James is writing up his first blog post for here. I’m proud enough to squish him. He’s only had the access to this blog for like… well, since I started it.

I was listening to someone talk on the radio about how she doesn’t watch rated R movies because she wants to regulate what goes into her mind and spirit. The talk show host that she was on with also has the “no rated R movie” rule… I don’t know how I feel about it. Glenn (the host) HAS been called a “moral hypocondriac” by his producer, Stu (the evil vegetarian sleeper terrorist–long and funny story I’ll share later). So he might be overreacting.

There’s also the element where he’s slightly two-faced–he feels intense guilt about watching Desperate Housewives, but he does, because he’s intrigued by the story telling. So I really don’t go to Glenn Beck as my spiritual advisor. But the lady he was talking to gave me some ideas to think about.

I can think up plenty of reasons to not give up rated R movies–I wanna be a writer when I grow up. To a degree, there’s an academic element to watching most things. I also think I’m smart enough to be able to seperate the good from the bad morally, and not be so easily duped by the glamor of immorality and other evils. It’s also awful difficult to comment truthfully on what’s wrong with something if we haven’t read/seen it. I despise it when people who base their opinions on other people’s opinions, instead of the original source material.

I can think of a lot of reasons TO give up rated R movies–Garbage in, garbage out. It’s not just for code monkeys any more. I also might think I’m smarter than I am. Another thing I can’t stand is intellectual arrogence. The “I know so much better than you” crowed. Intellectual elitists are no fun at all, especially when they’re running around talking down to everybody and acting like they exist on this much higher and smarter plane of existance. I may not be smart enough to be unaffected by many of the things I see. I’m not exactly what you’d call a “humble” person, so I’m sure that’s a trap it would be very easy for me to fall into.

Conclusion: I don’t have one. The thought of giving up rated R movies for good is kind of startling. It’s like telling someone they can’t have anything with sugar in it for the rest of their life. People can live without sugar at every meal, or even every day, or every week. But never having icecream ever again? Diabetics do it because they have to. The rest of us have no such imparative and answer only to our own conscience and weak wills.

However, if I was in a “forced to” situation, I’m sure I could go without. It’s not like I’m addicted–I just dont like to limit possibilities. Most movies are crappy anyways, and not worth watching. The movies (new movies) that I’m willing to invest time and money into are few and far between. I’ve only been to the movie theater twice since May, and both times i saw Batman Begins.

So… thoughts?

August 23, 2005 - Posted by | Thoughts

1 Comment »

  1. Yes, I still think Katie Holmes is a mind slut and that scientology was a Bet Hubbard won against Asimov and Clarke.

    And that’s all I have to say about that.

    We Miss you Fr Max.

    Comment by James | August 23, 2005


Leave a Reply

